United Nation

The African country of Mozambique and the European country of Switzerland became members of the United Nations Security Council for the first time.

The representatives of both the countries called it a historic day and said that they are aware of their responsibilities.

Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland have officially joined the UN Security Council.

Ambassadors from all five countries, like other members of the Security Council, display their national flags outside the chambers, a tradition started by Kazakhstan in 2018.

This is the second time that Malta has become a member of the Security Council, Ecuador for the fourth time and Japan for the twelfth time.

It should be noted that the Security Council has 15 members, of which 5 countries, China, France, Russia, the United States and the United Kingdom, are permanent members.

The other 10 member states are elected by the United Nations General Assembly; these members are elected for two years.

By Admin